Tuesday, November 22, 2011

Senate Democrats Select Senator Schiavoni to Serve as Assistant Minority Whip

Columbus – The Ohio Senate Democratic Caucus today selected Senator Joe Schiavoni (D-Canfield) to serve as Assistant Minority Whip. Senator Schiavoni replaces Senator Jason Wilson (D-Columbiana) who resigned last week to become the Director of the Governor’s Office for Appalachia.

“Senator Schiavoni will be an outstanding addition to our leadership team,” said Senate Minority Leader Capri S. Cafaro (D-Hubbard). “He is hard working and dedicated to improving the lives of his constituents and the people of Ohio.”

Senator Schiavoni has been a member of the Ohio Senate since January, 2009. He currently serves as the Ranking Member on both the Insurance, Commerce and Labor Committee and the Energy and Public Utilities Committee.

“I am honored to be selected by my colleagues for this leadership position,” said Senator Schiavoni. “I am excited to continue working with members from both caucuses to address the serious issues that people face in my district and throughout the state.”

Tuesday, November 15, 2011

Senator Sawyer’s “Friendship 7” Bill Passes the Ohio Senate

Columbus – The Ohio Senate voted today to approve Senate Bill 155. The bill, introduced by Senator Tom Sawyer (D-Akron) and former Senator Gary Cates, will designate February 20th as “John Glenn Friendship 7 Day.” Senator Sawyer gave the following statement after the bill’s passage:

“On February 20, 1962, Ohioan John Glenn Jr. displayed great courage by becoming the first American to orbit the Earth. John Glenn’s mission put the United States back in the “space race” despite the questions that were left unanswered following the Soviet Union’s full orbital mission. Friendship 7’s launch enabled Glenn to orbit the Earth three times and served as the standard for future NASA projects.

“John Glenn’s heroism, especially on reentry, will forever be engraved in the memory of everyone who followed the reports of that first orbital flight. It remains an indelible moment in American history.”

Monday, November 14, 2011

Senator Kearney Praises Approval of the Adoption Loan Program

CINCINNATI– State Senator Eric H. Kearney (D-Cincinnati) praised the Ohio Controlling Board’s approval of funding for the Ohio Adoption Loan Program. Kearney was the primary sponsor of the bill creating the Ohio Adoption Loan Program, the only one of its kind in the country.

“This approval process has been a four-year effort and I am happy that it is complete,” said Senator Kearney. “As parents of an adoptive child, my wife and I understand the financial difficulties that many families face when going through the process. It is my hope that this loan will encourage more families to continue the process of giving children stable and loving homes.”

Under the Adoption Loan Program, families who are approved and matched to adopt a child may seek a loan through Fifth Third Bank to defray some of the upfront costs of the adoption process. As the financial institution selected by the state of Ohio for the management of this loan program, Fifth Third Bank will receive, review and approve adoption loan applications up to $3,000 from residents of the State of Ohio. Applicants must present proof of program eligibility, in the form of a letter from an adoption agency confirming that the loan applicant is an adoptive parent who has been matched with an identified child.

The approval of the program precedes the anniversary of the 11th Annual National Adoption Day on November 19th. Celebrated across the United States, more than 350 community events are held each year to finalize the adoptions of children in foster care and celebrate adoptive families. In addition, Senator Kearney introduced Ohio Adoption Day which is celebrated annually on the Saturday after Thanksgiving Day.

Senator Eric H. Kearney represents parts of Cincinnati, St. Bernard, Elmwood Place, Cleves, Cheviot, Norwood, Golf Manor, Columbia Township, Deer Park, Silverton, Springfield Township, North Bend and Addyston.

The Caucus

Minority Leader Eric H. Kearney - Cincinnati - 9th District
Assistant Minority Leader Joe Schiavoni - Canfield - 33rd District
Minority Whip Nina Turner - Cleveland - 25th District
Assistant Minority Whip Edna Brown - Toledo - 11th District
Senator Tom Sawyer - Akron - 28th District
Senator Charleta B. Tavares - Columbus - 15th District
Senator Shirley Smith - Cleveland - 21st District
Senator Michael J. Skindell - Cleveland - 23rd District
Senator Lou Gentile - Steubenville - 30th District
Senator Capri S. Cafaro - Hubbard - 32nd District

This page may operate better if you download a free copy of Adobe Flash Player, found here.